Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Reading is fundamental!

I learned to read by force. It's safe to say that I was a very stubborn child, I had to have my way. Well when my mother decided that she wanted to move to Atlanta to start over, she left me in the care of my very capable grandmother. I could get away with shit with my mother all the time (and still can) she just has a soft spot for her first born. But my grandmother birthed 8 girls. Eight girls, 8 different personalities, she knew the deal.

Well my mother moved right before I was to start kindergarten. So my grandmother and I were preparing to gather my school supplies for the upcoming school year a few weeks in advance. Let me remind you that I am only 6 years old at this point! Well we went into the store with the list in hand. My grandmother turned to me and said "What's the first thing on the list?" I said "I don't know, mama. I can't tell!" I would soon regret that confession.

My grandmother took the list out of my hand and let me by my wrist out the store's exit. At this point, I'm crying. All I wanted to do was get my colorful notebooks and the red bookbag I had scoped a couple weeks earlier and now I'm going back home empty handed? WTF?

When we arrived home my grandmother pulled out a black notebook from her desk and a newspaper and told me to copy every word I saw in the first article! "No!" I shouted! "I want to go to school! I want my mommy!" I cried. She didn't care. She took my by the hand and locked me in my bedroom and told me I wasn't coming out until I was done! So after a MAJOR tantrum, I gave in. I copied the newspaper article-word for word.

Everyday, all day my grandmother would make me read everything I could get my hands on-I mean EVERYTHING! Newspaper articles, food labels, captions on the tv, books, magazines, etc. if it had words on it I had to sound it out!

Needles to say as the school year approached I knew how to read. I went into kindergarten reading and comprehending at a 5th grade level. *I have test scores to prove it* However, over time I think, I got lazy. When I was old enough to make decisions for myself, reading a book was not on my list of things to do. I don't know when the last time I opened up a book for leisure.

I'm going to get back into it! I've got to do better. Because I have a little sis, 9 years old, and I swear the girls a genius! She is reading my old college marketing books and asking questions-good ones too! I've got to show her that the same way you start, you gotta finish. I started strong, albeit by force, and I want to end that way!

As of today I started reading Robert Greene's The 48 Laws of Power so far it's been an interesting read.

So tell me: What books are you reading and how did you learn to read?

6 had something to say:

All-Mi-T [Thought Crime] Rawdawgbuffalo said...

bravo
when u stopping by the shop folk 572 edgewood suite 117

maylady84 said...

I'm not sure but I need to stop by to meet the man behind the words... I need to buy one of your books too! I saw a book on your website that I want. Need to get it and soon,while I'm on my reading shit! LOL

Anonymous said...

I definitely have a love of reading, I've always been a bookworm...but certainly didn't start reading until I was in kindergarten. I was never forced to read though...I think if I was forced to read I don't think I'd love it as much.

Anyway, I love all kinds of books...but right now I've been reading alot of urban fiction "hood" books. I love fiction and mysteries more than I like non-fiction (but will read some non-fiction). I like autobiographies too. Right now I'm reading Pleasure by Eric Jerome Dickey. Reading definitely is fundamental.

M* said...

oh shit is the law book red, i had it assigned for class, i have yet to read it, but i plan on it


love tha readib rainbow throwbacccccccccc

maylady84 said...

yes! it is red! i'm on law #4- Always say less than necessary! I have a problem with talking too much so I may need to take this law to heart!

M* said...

haha how funny, its a small blog world!

i bet all dictators read that book!

bush read it for sho, but kinda flip tha script though.

haha #4 good 1